North Star Timeshare Scam

This company appears to go by different names: North Star Vacation Club, North Star Properties, North Star Lodge and Resort, North Star Timeshares. And sometimes the name is combined as NorthStar. The sales office we visited is located on the Killington Rd, Killington, VT. However, the company sells timeshares in resorts all across the United States.

The company uses different tactics to entice people to attend sales presentations for resort timeshares. You may be told you’ve won a contest or simply receive an offer in the mail promising you a gift such as an iPad, airline tickets or a free hotel package.

In our case we we received several different offers and finally decided to take them up on the offer for two airline tickets (up to $1,300 in total value) plus two free nights in a hotel. The offer said nothing about any additional fees.

We attended a sales presentation on the Killington Road in Killington, VT. A salesman spoke to me and my wife for about an hour. He was polite; we were polite, but in the end we declined to purchase the timeshare.

At that point he gave us a voucher for our supposedly free gift. However, as we drove home we read the fine print. In order to receive our plane tickets we needed to comply with all the stipulations within 21 days and send $100 to a processing company in Florida. At that point we would receive a “travel request form.”

The fine print went on to explain that in order to process the “travel request form,” we would be charged an additional $75 per person to purchase our airline tickets. We would also be charged “approximately $25 – $75 per person” for the hotel stay. In addition, if we traveled during “peak” times, other “surcharges may apply.”

So before I tell the rest of the story, let’s do the math. According to the original letter we received in the mail, the airline tickets and hotel stay would be free. But if you add up all the processing fees, the fine print says you will be charged up to $400 plus possible “surcharges.” In addition, the processing company reserved the right to reject your reservation during certain high peak travel times, but didn’t state what those times might be.

We decided that the hotel stay probably wasn’t worth the possible $150 processing fee, but since we were already planning a trip to California, we decided the total processing fee of $250 would be worth it for the airline tickets. ($100 to get the “travel request form,” plus $75 each when we actually made the plane reservation.)

A certified check was required and I sent it immediately so that it would arrive in Florida within the required 21 days. But instead of receiving the promised “travel request form,” everything (including the the cashiers check) was returned to us stamped “Void.”

Even though our voucher had arrived in time (it was date stamped), I had failed to follow one of the requirements. I was supposed to send it by certified mail. I tried calling the 800 number in Florida to find out why this mattered, but only got an answering machine and no one returned my call. I also called North Star, but they refused to help.

The word SCAM may seem strong, but keep in mind that we were promised “two free airline tickets and two free nights in a hotel.” North Star doesn’t tell you that you will pay around $400 in processing fees plus other possible surcharges. They also don’t tell you about all the hurdles you’ll have to jump over and the blackout dates.

Just remember, “If it sounds to good to be true, it probably is.

North Star Timeshare Scam

9 thoughts on “North Star Timeshare Scam

      1. You miss the point and purpose of forums such as this. Aggressive marketing is the American way. But now the internet allows us to level the playing field and help each other to be better informed consumers.

        Like

      2. Abe says:

        Slandering the name of a good company because you’re not willing to take responsibility for your own actions is wrong. If you were at a charity golf event, & won a new car by hitting a hole in 1, would you slander those who organized the event because you’re responsible for taxes & fees. If you don’t want your time wasted stop wasting others time chasing down freebies!!

        Like

  1. Heavydmg says:

    Hey Abe maybe you should be more forthcoming of your true identity. Abe the north star. I also got a super scammy letter today as well.

    Like

  2. Claude Mongeon says:

    I received a letter today in the mail also. It was an offer to win a Toyota Prius as well as 3 other GRAND prizes. I am in the printing direct mail business. Judging by how much they spent on this mailing (Fake Prius key that lights up with your winning number and a scratch off) I’d say North Star is raking it in with their mail fraud eh hem I mean Sweepstakes offer!
    Same old mail marketing scheme. I just hope they are not taking advantage of any elderly people who don’t know any better. STAY AWAY FROM THESE LOSERS!

    Like

  3. shutter bug says:

    I received the same letter today. The front of the letter in bold print states I have definitely won one of the 4 grand prizes. But the reverse side stated the odds of winning any of the 4 prizes listed on the front and the best odds were 1/150,000. Just to see how scammy this company was I called the phone number listed on the invitation. Bev told me I was definitely a grand prize winner and all I had to do was show up to the designated spot at the designated time, September 25th, and I would receive the prize on that very day. I didn’t tell her that it states right on the letter that the drawing for the prizes is listed as October 22. She was obviously lying to me just to get me to show up. I also asked her to explain the fees that would be involved in winning any of the prizes and she stated 3 times there were no fees other than the taxes that would be due to the federal government. So I asked her what percentage of the prize the taxes would amount to and she said since she didn’t work for the government she had absolutely no idea. Again I asked what other fees would be associated with collecting the prizes and she again denied there would be any other fees involved. Why not just be honest. I would never ever buy a time share but others might enjoy vacationing that way. Why not just offer the time share information without all the lies and gimmicks? If I show up it will be to hand out copies of the timeshare scam letter to the unsuspecting. Bev and company should be ashamed of themselves.

    Like

  4. Kim says:

    Shutter Bug – I received the same letter. I was told that I have to attend the drawing/event that was a 4 hour drive away plus a ferry. When I expressed my concerns, the representative asked for my zip code and he proceeded to tell me that I was not supposed to have received the letter. So they tell you are a winner but then pull the rug from under you by saying that I wasn’t suppose to get it in the first place. Not to mention, you are NOT a guaranteed winner. It’s like a lottery. This should not be allowed to happen, for a parent of 3 who is homeless, we really could of used that money or sold one of the prizes. Shame on you!

    Like

Leave a comment